Welcome to the Morgan County Recorder's Information Page
Marriage License
 

WHERE TO APPLY
Recorder of Deeds
100 East Newton, Room 22
Versailles, Missouri 65084
Phone: 573-378-4029
 
HOW TO APPLY
Both parties must appear in person at the Recorder's office with photo identification and proof of social security number. (For parties under the age of 18, see below).

 

WHEN TO APPLY
Monday-Friday 8 AM to 4:30 PM (except holidays). The license fee of $51 cash must be paid at the time of Application. No refunds. Missouri law has eliminated the 3-day waiting period to obtain a marriage license. If you are getting married within 30 days from application, you may take your license the same day you apply.

It is a misdemeanor for anyone to perform a marriage ceremony if a license is not presented prior to the ceremony (451.120 RSMo.). The marriage is invalid if the ceremony takes place before the license is picked up.

 

WHEN TO PICK UP LICENSE
License must be picked up before ceremony can be performed (see above note). Anyone previously designated may pick up the license after the waiting period. The marriage license is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance and may be used anywhere within the State of Missouri.

 

WHAT TO DO WITH THE LICENSE
You are responsible for delivering the license to the person who solemnizes your marriage. The person performing the ceremony must complete the left portion of the license, have two witnesses sign it, and return it to the Recorder's office within 15 days after the wedding. The license becomes a permanent record. (The right portion is the Marriage Certificate that is filled out by the minister and retained by the parties as evidence of the marriage)

 

PROOF OF AGE IDENTIFICATION
Identification and proof of age is required of ALL persons. The following proof of age documents will be accepted, along with a U.S. government issued photo ID.
AGES 15 THROUGH 17: Birth Certificate (legal, certified) AND Parental Consent
AGE 18 AND OVER: Valid Drivers License (see Qualifications for additional information).

 

QUALIFICATIONS
Blood relatives, down to and including first cousins, MAY NOT marry under the laws of the State of Missouri. No distinction is made between resident and non-resident individuals.

Applicants (a male and a female) must be 18 years of age to marry without parental consent. Persons between the ages of 15 and 17 may obtain a license with the consent of a parent or legal guardian. Parents or legal guardians must give consent in person (at the time of application) and have proper identification and proof of custody if divorced or never married. If legal guardian is giving consent, a certified copy of guardianship papers must be presented. Also, guardian must bring in Photo ID and Social Security card.

Previously married applicants must give the date their last marriage ended. Persons divorced less than 30 days may apply for a marriage license if they acknowledge that they understand the divorce can be appealed or set aside within 30 days by the court of jurisdiction.

 

MARRIAGE LICENSE CHECKLIST
To Apply:
  • $51 cash
  • Photo ID
  • Proof of Social Security Number
  • Proof of Age (if under 18)
  • Parent or guardian for consent (Age 15-17)

 

AFTER YOUR MARRIAGE

Name Change and Marital Status (female)

A certified copy of your marriage license is required by Social Security to change your name. You can obtain a certified copy of your license in the following ways:

  1. Send a written request to:
    Recorder of Deeds
    100 East Newton, Room 22
    Versailles, Missouri 65084
  2. By Phone: 573-378-4029

Certified statements of your marriage license can be received after the marriage license if returned to us. The cost of certified statements are $2.00 each. The license must have been issued in Morgan County.

You should contact the following agencies to change your name and notify them of your marital status:

  • Morgan County License Bureau:
    108 N. Monroe
    Versailles, MO 65084
    573-378-7434
     
  • Voter Registration - Morgan County Clerk's Office
    100 East Newton - Rm. 23
    Versailles, MO 65084
    573-378-5436
     
  • Social Security Administration
    3320 West Tenth Street
    Sedalia, MO 65301
    660-827-4709 or 800-772-1213

Marriage License Fee Distribution:
Children's Trust Fund of Missouri $15.00
Shelter Fund for Abused Women $10.00
Morgan County General Revenue $15.00
State & County User Fee $4.00
County Employees Retirement System $7.00

 


     

Copyright 2008, Morgan County All rights reserved. Site Design ilacreations